cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Winnietws

StartsWith function invalid with ||

20210930_140101.jpg

Hi, I am new to Powerapp and would like to seek help for this. I am trying to search two different columns, Name and Date ,within one search box and be able to filter my inputs by 'Date'. However, I got this error with I use the '||' function. 

4 REPLIES 4
RusselThomas
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hi @Winnietws ,

It looks like you're missing a close bracket after your second StartsWith() to close off the filter expression?

SortbyColumns(Filter(StartsWith()||StartsWith() ) ,"column", sortorder)

Hope this helps,

RT 

20210930_155133.jpg

 Hi RT , I included the closed bracket. I not sure about the error for 'Date'

Are you sure you want to use StartsWith on a date?

You could use StartsWith(Text(Date), TextSearchBox1_1.Text) to fix the error, but most likely you want to filter on an exact date using Date = DateValue(TextSearchBox1_1.Text)

RusselThomas
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hi @Winnietws ,

I would guess your problem stems from incompatible data types.

A Date type is not the same as a Text type.  This means, the string of today's date "2021/09/30" and the output of Today() are not equal because one is Text, and the other is a Date. "2021/09/30" = Today() = False.

Both sides of a comparison must be of the same types - always.

StartsWith() requires a text value to compare with another text value - if the data is stored as a Date type, then you can't use StartsWith() to compare that date to text unless you also convert the date to text first. 

Conversely, if the data you're comparing a Date type against is a Text type, you would need to convert it to a date type first for the comparison to work - and then you wouldn't use StartsWith() to do the comparison because it only does text comparisons.