cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Submit data form using powerapps to sharepoint list, but user does not have access to sharepoint list

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time developing a PowerApps. I currently have a SharePoint site and list that has highly sensitive data for my company. I created a PowerApps that allows users to be able to submit a form that will write the data to the SharePoint list. However, I am having trouble because some of my users will not have permission to view/edit the SharePoint site where the data is written to. Is there any work around to this? I was thinking of potentially making another SharePoint site with an interim list for the data and when an entry is created a flow will run to transfer the data to my main list and delete the record after the transfer. 

Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super User
Super User

Yes, using a "staging" list might be a good way to go - as long as that doesn't pose any other legal issues with the handling of sensitive data.  

You could have the app write to the staging list and then kick off a flow one of several ways:

1.  using the "When an item is added to a sharepoint list" trigger

2.  at a specific time or times

3.  when the user hits the save/submit button 

A lot would depend on the timing you need - does the update need to take place immediately or is batched OK?  If immediate, option 1 might be an excellent way to handle it.  It removes the update of the sensitive list completely from the app, but will make the update occur right after the record is saved.  If batch is OK, then a time-based flow might be adequate.

Bottom line, if your users do not have access to the ultimate destination list, you will have to use a disconnected process in which a separate process with rights to both the staging and final list posts the records.

LRVinNC

------------------