cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AedenMaddok
Regular Visitor

SubmitForm function does not seem to be working with SQL.

Hello, I'm rather new to using Power Apps.  It has many great features and some not so great features.

I'm trying to build a simple app for CRUD (Create, Read, Update, Delete) operations in a locally-hosted SQL table.  The table consists of 5 fields:

• ID - INTEGER (IDENTITY)
  • SSN - VARCHAR (25)
  • SendVerificationTo - VARCHAR (50)
  • DateSubmitted - DATETIME
  • DateProcessed - DATETIME

When inserting a new record, a user should only have to supply the data for the SSN field and the SendVerificationTo field as the ID and DateSubmitted should obtain appropriate values by default.

My app consists of a main screen for viewing the data in a gallery, a details screen for viewing the details of the recor, an editing screen to edit the data in a record, and a screen to add a record to the table.  I know that best practice is to perform all of these operations in one or maybe two screens, but this is my first power app and I want to ensure that I understand how all of the objects and controls work before combining them onto one form.

When creating a new edit form, I noticed that the fields I added to the edit form consist of two labels; I've watched many tutorial videos and never saw this behavior when creating a new edit form.  Is this behavior something unique to using a SQL data source?  I don't think you can edit the value of a label.  I considered this a minor setback and simply added a text field to each data card.  Another problem that only seems to happen with a SQL data source is that the form cards default to DisplayMode.View and I have to change them to follow the DisplayMode of the parent object.

I have got the data source connected created my pages complete with icons and buttons.  The main page and the details page are working great.