cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
andy88
Level: Powered On

Submitting Global Variable values to Sharepoint Lists

Hi, 

I am new to Powerapps and have tried to follow other threads but not having much luck.

I have an app that asks some questions but I have set a global variable for each question such as age, gender, etc. I also made a Sharepoint list with columns that are Age, Gender, etc and what I want is to click a submit button it will move the values chosen of each variable selected into their corresponding columns as one row. 

I have tried using Collect and Patch functions and getting errors. I have somehow ended up with the code using for example Collect(SPList, {Title:age}) and it has filled in the first column but am not sure how to edit this code to include the other variables to appear in their respective columns as my attempts have had the columns come out as blank. 

If anyone can help, that would be great. 

10 REPLIES 10
Super User
Super User

Re: Submitting Global Variable values to Sharepoint Lists

You need to use Patch or UpdateIf to modify sharepoint.

For a new record:

Patch(SPList,Defaults(SPList),{Age:AgeVariableName,Ethnicity:EthnicityVariablename})

Also ensure you havnt got any 'Required' fields such as 'Title' as this will stop the Patch applying.

If you decide at some point you want to modify a sharepoint record i would use UpdateIf as Patch will not update a Null value (i have reported many times now)

Oh and so your clear:

Collect: Pulls records into powerapps and stores them in temporary tables

Patch: Adds or modifies a record in a datasource or collection

UpdateIf: Modifies a record in a datasource or collection

andy88

Thanks for your quick response. 

I actually unrequired Title and renamed it Age as I thought it would be easier.