cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
isaac1
Helper II
Helper II

Table structure advice - a PA based on Sharepoint lists

I'm just starting out to learn Power Apps.  The only tools I have right now is Power Apps built over a Sharepoint Online list(s).  

Our records tend to make frequent use of people-type of assignments - like who is the assigned _______, the assigned _______, and so on and so forth.  In many cases, we need to assign multiple people - so for the Foreman column, there might be 5 of them.  

In the past, under sloppy development (i.e., sharepoint-only), we might just cram 5 people into that column, in Sharepoint, column type=Person or Group.  But I want to begin incorporating all of my database development training into my Power Apps experience as much as I possibly can.  So, obviously, this is a one-to-many relationship (one primary record, many Foreman values), so I can just begin by making a second Sharepoint list meant to contain one record for each Foreman person......all linked (foreign key) to the master record............Right?  It will be possible (later, when I'm making the Power app), to do all of the Power Apps patching that I need in order to keep this relationship faithful, right?  Any other suggestions?

10 REPLIES 10
WarrenBelz
Super User III
Super User III

Hi @isaac1 ,

Please have a read of this blog of mine - happy to answer any questions.

Please click Accept as solution if my post helped you solve your issue. This will help others find it more readily. It also closes the item. If the content was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Thumbs Up.

Drrickryp
Super User II
Super User II

@isaac1 

In addition to @WarrenBelz 's excellent blog check out my post https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Power-Apps-Community-Blog/Relational-Database-Principles-and-Pow...and the one following it to see how to apply database principles in PowerApps.