cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FrancoP
Frequent Visitor

Text string input to SP List row

Hi.

I'm new to Power Apps and taking a stab at making an inventory tool using QR code and a USB handheld scanner gun to scan data into a SharePoint List. I am able to build the QR Code with whatever data and characters I need. The QR code generates a single line of text with any delimiter I want. At the moment I'm using TABs as my delimiter as it makes the output easy to read and to past into Excel when needed.  In a Power App, I will capture the data in a text input and using the OnChange property I'd like to get the text input split into multiple columns and entered into a single row of a SharePoint List. 

Example data: 

Orange 3 3/2/2022 123

I'd like have this entered into a SharePoint List row with the following column names:

Color Count Date ID

Thanks for any help you can offer.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
fuzzy_fuzz
Super User
Super User

You can Split the text by the blank space between the data and store it in a collection: 

ClearCollect(
    colSplit;
    Split(Text; " ")
)

Then to populate your Sharepoint List use the Collect function and this twi functions together to get the Nth item from the collection: Last(FirstN(col, N)).Value

Collect(
    SPList;
    {
        Color: Last(FirstN(colSplit, 1)).Value;
        Count: Last(FirstN(colSplit, 2)).Value;
        Date: Last(FirstN(colSplit, 3)).Value;
        ID: Last(FirstN(colSplit, 4)).Value
    }
)

I'm sure there could be a better way to do this but if I understood well I think this will work for you.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
fuzzy_fuzz
Super User
Super User

You can Split the text by the blank space between the data and store it in a collection: 

ClearCollect(
    colSplit;
    Split(Text; " ")
)