Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Yoursnani
Helper IV
Helper IV

Textinput default value in Edit screen

Hi ,

I am new to power apps 

I am customizing SharePoint with powerapps I have currency column in SharePoint . when I enter value in new form its working fine. When I open Edit form its not showing before value . its showing empty. And I am using text input out of the box (out of the Data card) .please help me how I can get default data in edit screen

Thank you .

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
RandyHayes
Super User III
Super User III

@Yoursnani 

Then you are trying to separate the form interface from your form with your own custom controls.

If this is the case, then you need to utilize a variable for your record that you are editing.

Your EditForm will use the variable for its Item property.

For example, let's say you are selecting your record from a Gallery - in the OnSelect action of the Gallery you would have : Set(glbCurrentRecord, ThisItem)

Your Form Item property would be set to : glbCurrentRecord

Your Form would be set to Edit mode (always).

Your TextInput control (and others to follow this example) the Default property would be: glbCurrentRecord.'B-hours'

Repeat this for the other TextInput controls except specify their field/column name.

If you have a need to add new records, then for whatever action you have to add a record, you would set the formula to:  Set(glbCurrentRecord, Defaults('Project WBS'))

Again, your form will always remain in Edit mode and you should not use the NewForm, EditForm etc. functions.

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Digging it? - Click on the Thumbs Up below. Solved your problem? - Click on Accept as Solution below. Others seeking the same answers will be happy you did.
Check out my PowerApps Videos too! And, follow me on Twitter @RandyHayes

View solution in original post

RandyHayes
Super User III
Super User III

@Yoursnani