cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post Patron
Post Patron

To get manager of author created by

In my powerapps form linked to sharepoint list, I am trying to check a condition where the manager of the created by person (author) of the list item and the current user is same or not.

To achieve this I used the formula :-

but i get the below error message -

Office365Users.Manager Failed: The method Manager has an invalid value for parameter userId

I even tried to use Office365Users.ManagerV2 - still the same.

Kindly help as I am very new to powerapps and in the learning process.
16 REPLIES 16
Dual Super User II
Dual Super User II

Hi @cyberco01 

Can you update your expression as:
If(If(!IsBlank(ThisItem.Author.Email),Office365Users.Manager(ThisItem.Author.Email).Mail = User().Email,true) || User().Email = "abc@xyz.com" || User().Email = "mno@xyz.com",Edit,View)
Hope this Helps!

If this reply has answered your question or solved your issue, please mark this question as answered. Answered questions helps users in the future who may have the same issue or question quickly find a resolution via search. If you liked my response, please consider giving it a thumbs up. THANKS!
Dual Super User III
Dual Super User III

Where are you applying the formula?  I put essentially the same formula in the DisplayMode property on an EditForm Data Card and it worked fine.  It did give me an error before I ran it, but that was because the properties were empty prior to the first run.  Here's the formula I used.

If(Office365Users.ManagerV2(ThisItem.'Created By'.Email).mail=User().Email||User().Email="xyz@company.com",DisplayMode.Edit,DisplayMode.Disabled)

Note that I used 'Created By' rather than Author.  My list doesn't have an Author Field

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.
Anonymous