cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Trying to send database ID from a Powerapp back to an API

Afternoon all,

total newbie here, so please go easy - I did carry out some searches, and found some answers to other questions, but was struggling to find one for this.

I am totally new to Power Apps, but have been asked to create a powerapp to collect data on properties, and then write this back to a database.

A colleague who is more skilled in the DB and API side of things is assisting, and so far I have a front end set up.

He has configured the Azure DB, and I have setup the tables within.

Screen 1 asks for a postcode - you type this in, press a continue button, and the API checks the table we have with 60,000 properties in it, and then on screen 2 just offers you properties that share that same post code.

Under this we have 10 drop downs for various different categories, such as "Is there Gas in the propety?"

The drop down options are taken from seperate tables we have created within Azure, and an example set would be:

ID1: "Yes"

ID2: "No"

ID3: "Don't Know"

All of these tables have an ID column (As shown above, though this is not visible on the drop down), and what my colleague has asked is that I find a way to capture the ID from the db, and send this back as opposed to the text option that is chosen.

ie if they choose Yes, he wants ID1 to come back instead of 'Yes'.

I've also been struggling with how to get the data back at all, I had a look at collections, but don't think this is right, so thought that "Patch" would be the way to go.

This is what I put in, prior to the ID request being raised, but it doesn't like something about the syntax: