cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Helper I
Helper I

Unwanted Sorting of Listbox Options from Items in SharePoint Column

I am creating a Listbox in the canvas app linked to a SharePoint list column, and the items (rows) seem to be sorted, and I don't want that. I see nothing in edit mode in Properties or Advanced or other parts of the interface indicating why it is being sorted. I want the Listbox select options to read from top to bottom just as it displays in the SP list.

Background: I'm just getting started using Power Apps, having heavily made forms/pages using JavaScript/HTML/CSS inside & outside of SharePoint chrome for SP2010/2013/2016 on-premises using REST requests. I see there is no room for client-side scripting (JavaScript) in Power Apps so this will be entirely new for me. Becoming proficient in Power Apps is a required duty for me. If you know of one or more learning resources, I would appreciate link(s) to those resources.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

@StevePenner 

So, in this case, I would have a look at the View in SharePoint.  How is it sorting?  Because the default sort would be by ID in PowerApps.  If they don't match, then I am speculating that you have a Sort order set on the SharePoint list view.

Check that out first.

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Digging it? - Click on the Thumbs Up. Solved your problem? - Click on Accept as Solution. Others seeking the same answers will be happy you did.
Check out my PowerApps Videos too!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

@StevePenner 

Welcome to PowerApps!!  Leave your developer mind at the door...😂

Can you explain what you mean by a "SharePoint List Column" ?

In general, there is no sorting on items unless you specify it.  It will get and display items in the order received from the datasource.