cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FlyingTuga

Updating form field with button

Hi,

I am a PowerApps beginner and trying to create an app a somehow basic app.

I am using a SharePoint list as data source, and I am using a EditForm. I want to be able to update fields when I click a button (onSelect) and save it to SharePoint. I have seen several examples, though I don't seem to get it to work.

I am looking for:

1. Have a button that updates the "Issue Status " field to "Resolved" and sets another field "Resolution date" with the current date;
  2. Another button labeled "Take Ownership" that updates the field "Owner" to the current user (type Person in SharePoint).

At this point I haven't even been able to update a simple basic text field with new text like "Test" at a click of a button.

I've seen examples that use the function PATCH, others that create a global variable and set the dropdown list to the variable, and a few other solutions, though I am not able to either update the field on the screen or update it on sharepoint. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2
mdevaney
Super User
Super User

@FlyingTuga 

Here's my take on your two questions:

1.  Put this code in the OnSelect property of a button within your form to PATCH the status and resolution date.  My assumption here is Issue Status is a Choices field in SharePoint.  Replace the datasource name with your own. 

Patch(
    your_datasource_name,
    ID = ThisItem.ID,
    {'Issue Status':  {Value: "Resolved"}, 'Resolution date': Today()}
);

2.  Put this code in the OnSelect property of a button within your form to PATCH the current user into the Owner field.   Replace the datasource name with your own.

Patch(
    your_datasource_name,
    ID = ThisItem.ID,
    {
    Owner: 
        {
        '@odata.type':"#Microsoft.Azure.Connectors.SharePoint.SPListExpandedUser",
        Claims:"i:0#.f|membership|" & User().Email,
        Department:"",