cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Frequent Visitor

Uploading Photo to Sharepoint, Returning URL, Adding To/Updating Sharepoint List

Oof. Strap yourself in for this novel of a help request. First things first - I'm a newbie to the world of PowerApps.  Wide-eyed and excited about the prospects but definitely still a little wet behind the ears and still trying to understand terminology and/or language. At the very least...I have a basic understanding of how it all functions - and am adept at coding, just not the specifics of PowerApp's language.

Essentially I'm trying to build an inventory tracker of artwork in my building.  I have a sharepoint list / "Lists in Teams" with info on individual pieces of artwork (columns for Photo, Title, Artist, Date Arrived, Location, Status, etc). PowerApps took the list and automatically built me a shell app that does 80% of what I'd need it to do - Screen 1 - Gallery of Items, Screen 2 - Edit Existing Items/Add new Items.

I'm trying to layer onto this app the ability to take a single photo/upload images in-app and feel like I've falling into the thick of it. The hard part was figuring out how to upload a photo to sharepoint - which (thanks to this article), I've done. The second part is where I'm flummoxed. I think there are a multitude of problems I've run into with this that are all intertwined:

• Getting the URL of the file - I cannot, for the life of me, get my flow to return a string/url of the file it uploads to sharepoint.  I tried adding a "Respond to Powerapps" action (as detailed in this video), but flow doesn't like adding that to a 'For Each' which the previous method (which works for me) requires; as opposed to the different method from the video (which doesn't work for me). 
    • Since I was creating a filename in-app (date/time:ss.jpg) I tried saving that as a variable with the url to the folder in my sharepoint...which I think might have worked except I....