cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cmorinville
Frequent Visitor

User selection of the current datasource.

I'm fairly new to Power Apps.  I'm trying to find out if there is a better way to accomplish my goal of allowing the user to change the datasource.  It was easy to pull in one table and filter the results by year.  What I'm doing is a little clumsy and limited.

I'm building a simple financial application connected to Excel.  I'm pulling in financial transactions (like a checkbook register) going back a few years.  I've run into the limit of 500 items that can be pulled into Power Apps (or 2000 if the setting is adjusted).  I needed a way around that so I broke out my transactions table into yearly transaction tables.  The structure of each is identical.

Upon loading the transaction screen with the data gallery, I statically set a variable called "TransactionTable" to the current year's table.  The data gallery calls my variable and does some filtering and sorting to get it the way I want it.  Once loaded the screen has a drop-down menu with statically assigned values for each year.  OnChange I set the variable and use the switch command to change the four-digit year to the actual table name.  This all works fine.  I can select each transactions record and view the detail in a form.  I can edit the record in a form.  I can add records in a form.

My solution mostly works OK, but it's got some limitations that I'm hoping you can help me work around.  These are my questions...