Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dmc_103
Helper II
Helper II

Validation for attachment control

Hi everyone,

Newbie here. I would like to have a checkbox ticked once the file attached has a .PDF extension. How to better accomplish this one?

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
rubin_boer
Super User
Super User

hi @dmc_103 

you can do that as well. just remember you will have to get the first item like this:

If(Mid(First(DataCardValue20.Attachments).Name, Find(".",First(DataCardValue20.Attachments).Name)+1,3) = "pdf",true,false)

rubin_boer_0-1612676407026.png

If this post helps you in a lot or a little, give it a Thumbs up. If it answered your question, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
rubin_boer
Super User
Super User

Hi @dmc_103 

Add a gallery and assign its Items = AttachmentDatacard.Attatchments

add a label and a checkbox to the gallery

the label Text = ThisItem.Name

the checkbox Default = If(Mid(ThisItem.Name,Find(".",ThisItem.Name)+1,3) = "pdf",true,false)

Once the files are uploaded this is what you get

rubin_boer_0-1612635489745.png

hope it helps

If this post helps you in a lot or a little, give it a Thumbs up. If it answered your question, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

dmc_103
Helper II
Helper II

Thank you @rubin_boer ! before creating what you have suggested though, followup question. Do I still need to create a gallery if my maximum attachment is only limited to 1 (file)?

rubin_boer
Super User
Super User

hi @dmc_103 

you can do that as well. just remember you will have to get the first item like this:

If(Mid(First(DataCardValue20.Attachments).Name, Find(".",First(DataCardValue20.Attachments).Name)+1,3) = "pdf",true,false)

rubin_boer_0-1612676407026.png

View solution in original post

dmc_103
Helper II
Helper II