cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kryptos
Regular Visitor

dropdown list with both ID and Value, store ID or key only

Im relatively new to Power Apps but experienced Access developer (like we all were) and adjusting to the differences and nuances. 

I have various drop down list in which I would like to store key values in an app im creating and not the descriptive value. I want the drop down to select the ID and Value from the lookup table, make the ID not visible so the user just sees the descriptive value and store the ID or key value. This was a common design pattern in Access and you could perform this by making the size of the first column 0". 

Is this also possible in power apps?

7 REPLIES 7

@kryptos 

@kryptos wrote:

... I want the drop down to select the ID and Value from the lookup table, make the ID not visible so the user just sees the descriptive value and store the ID or key value

1. Create a Gallery Control
  2. Create a Dropdown Control
  3. Have a Gallery connected to a Data Source
  4. In Gallery Fields, make the Gallery not show the ID of the data source entries, and show just the description of them.
  5. Get your Gallery so it shows all the entries first
  6. Go to Items Property of Gallery and make it a Filter
  7. Go to Items Property of Dropdown and put the name of your data source in there.
    1. This makes it so you could select your record from the dropdown among all the records
  8. In Items property of Gallery use Filter function and put Something = Dropdown.Selected (depends on your scenario) if you want to show only a single entry in the Gallery based on the value of the dropdown.

In PowerApps the specific ID doesn't even necessarily have to be a key part of this.

rebeccas
Community Champion
Community Champion

I also came from Access to PowerApps. If you are using a SharePoint list then yes there is an autoID that is created with each line item that you can refer to. I use it often.