cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

how to concatanate label values with semicolon

Hello Everyone,

I am new to PowerApps and unable to determine right solution on how to concatenate collection input text lables with Semicolon and save it to a SharePoint text column. 

Requirement: I want to show "Text input" label whenever users selects a button and each "Text input" will allow users to enter content into that. Based up on this I want to combine all the Text input labels along with "Semicolon" in between and the save it back to SharePoint text column. 

1. onVisible property of the screen- ClearCollect(ItemsCollection,0)

2. I have a button with these configurations - Collect(ItemsCollection, {column1:TextInput1.Text})

3. Gallery "items" property - ItemsCollection

Powerapps.PNG

My question is, how can I collect all the text input details and save to collection and then how can I save it to SharePoint text column adding "Semicolon"  in between those text input labels. 

8 REPLIES 8
eka24
Super User
Super User

On button that collect the data into the collection:

Collect(Collection1, {Names:TextInput5_4.Text&";"&TextInput5_5.Text&";"&TextInput5_1.Text})

Then Patch to Sharepoint:

ForAll(Collection1, Patch(Datasource,Defaults(Datasource),

{Names:Names}))

------------

If you like this post, give a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users find it.

RezaDorrani
Dual Super User II
Dual Super User II

Hi @Anonymous 

Once you have all your data in the collection.

Use the Concat function to get your values seperated by semicolon in a single text field

To get all text values in collection with ; seperated

Concat(ItemsCollection,column1&";")

To remove the last ; use below:

Left(Concat(ItemsCollection,column1&";"),Len(Concat(ItemsCollection,column1&";"))-1)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------