cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mclatch

search on SP lookup column

I am very new to PowerApps - trying to create my first app.

An app that will allow me to check in/out and track equipment using a barcode scanner.

I have the scanner part working but cannot get the app to find the code (scanned or typed) and retrieve the record.  

The default value for Items in BrowseGallery1 =

SortByColumns(Filter([@'Equipment Circulation'], StartsWith(Title, TextSearchBox1.Text)), "Title", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

When I change Title to 'Full Name' it finds records with items in the SP list checked out to that person so I know the data connection is working.  However I am wanting to search based on the 5-8 digit code of the item.  That code is in a lookup field in SP called Equipment ID Lookup.  When I try to replace Title with 'Equipment ID Lookup' I get a message "invalid argument type (record). Expected a text value."  So I'm assuming that the problem is with the lookup field in SP.  

I thought it would be simple to have 2 lists.  One is the master list of each piece of inventory and the second list to track the circulation of each item (1 to many).  Can't seem to figure it out.   

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JacoDeRooij
Helper II
Helper II

@mclatch 

I hope I can help you.

You can use the Text() function around the ‘Equipment Lookup ID’. It converts the value to a text. 

I have to try it myself to be completely sure. But I think you can give this a try. 

I’ve you have any further questions please let me know.

kind regards

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
JacoDeRooij
Helper II
Helper II

@mclatch 

I hope I can help you.

You can use the Text() function around the ‘Equipment Lookup ID’. It converts the value to a text. 

I have to try it myself to be completely sure. But I think you can give this a try. 

I’ve you have any further questions please let me know.

kind regards