Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
EdyMac
Helper I
Helper I

start timer with OnChange from a textbox

Hi,

I am trying to start a timer when the time in my text box changes, I am trying to create a lone worker app, so when someone clicks the check in button on the app the time updates in my SP list, I then have another app with details of the lone worker in the gallery, this is where each time they click check in and update the time on my SP list which in turn will update the time on my new app text box, I am trying to start the timer using on change on the text box but it wont start the timer. I have entered the below.

Timer control

Autopause and autostart both false

Start   "TimerGo"

Textbox

Default "ThisItem.'CheckIn Time'

OnChange "UpdateContext ({TimerGo: true});"

I'm new at Powerapps and I know this is a complex app but I am enjoing learning how to use powerapps.

Any help would be much appreciated

Ed

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
BobbyNastase

Hi,

I have tried the following and it worked: in the "On Change" property of the textbox try Set (TimerGo,true) and it worked. 

Bobby

View solution in original post

WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @EdyMac ,

On the OnChange

UpdateContext({TimerGo: false});
UpdateContext({TimerGo: true})

Please click Accept as solution if my post helped you solve your issue. This will help others find it more readily. It also closes the item. If the content was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Thumbs Up.

Visit my blog Practical Power Apps

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
BobbyNastase

Hi,

I have tried the following and it worked: in the "On Change" property of the textbox try Set (TimerGo,true) and it worked. 

Bobby

Hi Bobby,

just tried that and its not working for me, does it make a difference that im doing it in the gallery ?

Ed

WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @EdyMac ,

On the OnChange

UpdateContext({TimerGo: false});