cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rollyrulona
Level: Powered On

Edit and Create New Records in SQL Database from PowerApps

Hello guys,

I just started learning PowerApps and I simply do not understand how to do the following - even after reading guides and forums about it. So I am hoping here that somebody would be kind enough to use their time to give an answer. Smiley Very Happy

To give the simplified version of it, I created an app of the Lead Details Form in AX 2009 (SMMLEADTABLE). I have the following fields that I want to display, edit and create new record of:

- LEAD ID

- OWNER ID

- PRIORITY

- SUBJECT

My questions are as follows:

1. When I edit a record (the subject field for example), I get an error saying the following: 

PowerApps Error 3.JPG

The + button and its OnSelect property formula is set to SubmitForm(EditForm1) on the Edit Screen. The user is set to SQL Datawriter, so I should be able to edit and create new records in the SQL database from the PowerApps.

2. SMMLEADTABLE naturally contains those mentioned fields. However, Both the PRIORITY and OWNER ID are reference tables (I don't know the correct term here) which are SMMLEADPRIORITYTABLE and EMPLTABLE. Thus, when editing the Priority from "Low" to "High" in AX 2009, you simply choose from the dropdown list. I have edited the PRIORITY Datacard where I deleted the DataCardValue label control and inserted a dropdown control where the Items property formula is SMMLEADPRIORITYTABLE.PRIORITY. However, it contains numbers (1-4) which are not supposed to be there because the table only contains three records i.e. "LOW", "MID" and "HIGH". I also set the formula on the Update property of the PRIORITY DATACARD to DropDown.Selected.Priority. How do I properly set this kind of situation?