cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
reddyapps
Level: Powered On

Help with creating new app

hi there, i am new to power apps. i am trying to create an app for my company. Basically,its inventory tracking app.

we have a source file with all the information about device inventory. Each device in the inventory needs to go thru a  process with certain steps. At each process, we add a 'status' and 'updated date' and 'update notes' and etc by the user. All these updated information needs to be saved to a database table. So we can track all the historical information from that database.  

Is this something we can do with power apps? where shud i start? can someone thow some light? 

do I start with building database tables? or etc..please advice

3 REPLIES 3
Super User
Super User

Re: Help with creating new app

Hello @reddyapps and welcome! This is a great scenario for a PowerApp and you certainly can accomplish what you have described. As far as where to start, if you don't have the data tables built already (and even if you do) I would start at the data level by relating what data is needed for each part of the inventory tracking process. As in do you need serial numbers, item descriptions, purchase dates, a bin location, stuff like that.

Next, I would sort the data by how it should be organized. You would need a table for the inventory items. Do you want to capture each step of the inventory tracking process? You would probably need a table for this that will relate each item to a step. You may want a reference table of all the steps as well. Do different types of inventory have different steps? Maybe you need a table for the different classes or types of inventory you have that can be related to the inventory table.

Here is part one of a three part blog series about relational data design by @Drrickryp which cover some great info.