cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JDpower
Level: Powered On

How to patch a text field to a multi select choice column in sharepoint

Hello Friends,

I'm new to PowerApps and trying to achieve a solution for the following Problem:

I have a Text field where the user will Provide Regions in the the following formats(either 1, 2 or 3)

1. ASPAC,LATAM,NA

2. GLOBAL, NA

3. EMEA

And as per their choice in the text field I have to Patch this Text in a multi select Choice field (Region) which already has those choices available.

ie,

ASPAC

LATAM

NA

EMEA

GLOBAL

I'm trying to use the following code on Save button click but it's not working.

Patch('Employee Details', Defaults('Employee Details'), {

Region:

{'@odata.type':"#Microsoft.Azure.Connectors.SharePoint.SPListExpandedReference",
Id:1,
Value:InputRegion.Text}

})

Any help will be much appreciated!! 

4 REPLIES 4
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: How to patch a text field to a multi select choice column in sharepoint

Hi @JDpower,

Could you please share a bit more about the error message within your app?

Do you want to save each region within the Text field into the Multiple Choice type column in your SP list?

I think there is something wrong with the formula that you provided. Because the Region column is a Multiple Choice type column in your SP list, you should provide a Table value for the Region property rather than an object value within the formula that you provided.

I have made a test on my side, please take a try with the following workaround:1.JPG

Set the OnSelect property of the "New Item" button (it is "Save" button) to following formula:

Clear(Collection1);
Clear(RegionTable); ForAll(Split(TextInput1.Text,","),Collect(Collection1,{Iterator:CountRows(Collection1),Value:Result})); ForAll(
Collection1,
Collect(
RegionTable,
{
'@odata.type': "#Microsoft.Azure.Connectors.SharePoint.SPListExpandedReference", Id: Iterator, Value: Value
}
)