cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
WillPage
Level 8

Sort by multiple columns

Hello,

I'm new to PowerApps so hopefully my question is easy to answer.

I have a gallery that's based off a sharepoint list with a few columns, one of which is a choice column called in/out with two possible values, In or Out.

I need to show the Out items at the top of the list, so I can do this to the Items property of the gallery to achieve that:

Sort('list name','in/out'.Value,Descending)

But now I want the coulmns sorted by the last modified date, so the 'Outs' still show above the 'Ins' but within those two sections it's sorted by the modofied date. I tried this:

Sort(Sort('list name','in/out'.Value,Descending),Modified) 

However, this shows the most recently modified at the bottom of the gallery.

No matter how I structure the function I can't get the gallery to show Out above In at the same time as sort descending the Modified column.

For example this causes the modified to show the right way up, but puts the Ins at the top of the gallery and Outs at the bottom:

Sort(Sort('list name','in/out'.Value,Descending),Modified,Descending) 

How can I solve this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PowerApps Staff CarlosFigueira
PowerApps Staff

Re: Sort by multiple columns

You can create an expression that would assign a numeric value to each of the entries in the list, in a way that this value is larger for what you want to display on top (easier to do, since you want to sort by the modified date/time in descending order), and smaller otherwise. If you use an expression such as the following:

Sort(
    'list name',
    If('in/out'.Value = "Out", 100000000, 0) +
        Value(Text(Modified, "[$-en-US]yyyymmdd.hhmmss")),
    Descending)

Then you should get what you need.