cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
akosiwong
Level: Powered On

help on tutorial

Hi,

I am new to powerapps and I am following the step by step instruction here create from blank. However, I got some issues on adding changescreen. I can not use the Schedule datasource previously used on Viewscreen. Do i really need to add the same xlsx file on the changescreen?

Thanks,

Gilbert

Thanks,
Gilbert
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
PowerApps Staff CarlosFigueira
PowerApps Staff

Re: help on tutorial

I believe you imported the Excel file directly - you may have something like this when you go to View -> Data Sources:

ForumPost001.png

Notice the "Imported from Excel". When you add the data source, if you use the first option that you see:

ForumPost002.png

Then the table in the Excel file will be copied to the app: you cannot make changes to it using a form, for example. What you need to do is to copy the Excel file to some cloud storage provider (OneDrive, Dropbox, Box, etc.), and then find the Excel file that you copied there. If you have the Excel table in such provider, you will be able to use the app across multiple devices (and share it with other people) and they will all be referencing the same data source. In your case, you can remove the data source that you added (click the '...' by it, then Remove), and add the connected data source with your table.

ForumPost003.png

Once you do that you should be able to use that table in your form.

3 REPLIES 3
PowerApps Staff

The data sources are "global" to the app - they are available in all screens, so you should be able to use it on the change screen. What issues are you having?

akosiwong
Level: Powered On

Hi,