Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Zedian
Level: Powered On

Common Data Service for Apps: Lookup from a Task entity to a Contact entity

Hi Community,

I am a newbie with PowerApps and in particular CDS for Apps. I have a working app in PowerApps using a SharePoint list, that looks up a SharePoint Contacts list, and pulls in several fields. That works fine. 

However, I've realised that SharePoint Contact lists were short lived and I cannot create an app in PowerApps that can customise or edit my existing SharePoint contact list. So I thought I may as well recreate my app using CDS for Apps for data storage rather than SharePoint, so I could harness the power of existing entities which I can customise. 

I figured I could use the Task entity in CDS for Apps, as my original SharePoint list on which my app is based, largely matches the fields in this entity. I would have to create some new fields which is no problem. I can see that the Task entity has a many-to-one relationship with the Contact entity, with the Relationship name Contact_Tasks, and Lookup field name RegardingObjectId. However, there are no inbuilt fields making use of this relationship. If I create a new lookup field in the Task entity to reference the Contact entity, it creates a new lookup relationship, which is not what I want.

How can I make use of the existing relationship between the Task and Contact entities in CDS for Apps, and create a lookup field in the Task entity to the Contact entity?

3 REPLIES 3
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Common Data Service for Apps: Lookup from a Task entity to a Contact entity

HI @Zedian ,

Do you want to use the existing Relationship (Many-to-One) between the Task Entity and the Contact Entity in your CDS within your app?