cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Madumi
Level: Powered On

How do I create a custom entity with a "full name" primary field concatenated from first and last names?

I am new to CDS & powerapps, so please forgive my ignorance.

I am creating a database which has a Salespeople entity, similar to the Contacts entitiy. Contacts are already in place by default, but I need a "fullname" primary field for the Salespeople entity, just like the default Contacts...

How would I accomplish this?

thanks so much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: How do I create a custom entity with a "full name" primary field concatenated from first and last names?

Unfortunately there is no way to duplicate the functionality of the contact entity into a new custom entity. Other options are:

• If you don't use the lead entity, you could repurpose that entity, as the primary field is fullname. However, this would prevent you from using the lead entity for it's normal purpose
  • Create a custom entity, and the name field as the primary field, and separate fields for first and last name. Create a real-time workflow (on Create, and Update of the first or last name fields) to populate the name field from the first and last name. The advantage of doing this rather than a calculated field is that you are populating the primary field

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Super User
Super User

Re: How do I create a custom entity with a "full name" primary field concatenated from first and last names?

Hi @Madumi 

I have been trying to do the same with a custom entity without luck.  The closest I came was to use the Last name field as the Primary Name field and create a calculated field for the full name by concatenating the first and last names.  As far as I can tell, you can't use a calculated field as a primary name field.   

Madumi

thanks @Drrickryp 

Hmmm, that would be a pity indeed if it wasn't possible to do that.