cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Madumi
Level: Powered On

Import from excel - how do I import/maintain N:N (many to many) relationships?

Hi,

I'm new to Powerapps & the Common Data Service--hence the noob question... I'm hoping someone can direct me. I am doing a table import (from Excel spreadsheets) into the database, so I began by exporting to *.csv the blank tables out of CDS. I'll use them as templates to fill in with data & do the import... and I *think* I can figure out how to import/maintain tables related by 1:N relationships (lookup fields from other tables).

However, that said, I have two tables (entities), with one field in each joined by a many-to-many relationship. Given that these fields were not exported from my blank CDS database & I can't see a way to populate the intermediary join table inherent in the many-to-many relationship, how can I import the fields related with a many-to-many-relationship?

Any hints would be hugely appreciated. I haven't played around with N:N relationships before, so I may have this all backwards (apologies in advance), thx!

2 REPLIES 2
Madumi
Level: Powered On

Re: Import from excel - how do I import/maintain N:N (many to many) relationships?

Hmmm, After reading around, I decided to go a different route & create my own custom intermediary join table/entity to hold all the records for the N:N many to many relationship. That way I can maintain control over the data import process (I have near 30,000 records to import, so manually entering those relationships definitely isn't a good option).