cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Brentless
Level 8

Item Level Permissions for CDS Entity Items?

I am just learning about CDS and how it works.  Specifically I am looking for if I can set permissions on an "item" level within the entity.    I'd asked the question at Ignite and was told there is a way to do this, but as I start exploring, i'm not really finding it.

For example, if a user submits a request, then only the user, and a few other groups - dynamically determined based on other picklist fields, would have access to view this particular item.  Otherwise it seems I have to use logic within the PowerApp itself to determine if a user should be able to see the items.  Ideally if I could do it at the data level, this simplifies what I have to do at the PowerApp level.

I equivalate this to item level permissions of an list item in a SharePoint List.

3 REPLIES 3
Kevin23
Level: Powered On

Re: Item Level Permissions for CDS Entity Items?

Hey Brentless, 

I completely understand where you are coming from asking this question, but there is not really the same equivilant in CDS as there is in a SPList, item level permissions. But, you can achieve something quite similar using Security Roles  and Business Units. This is actually configuring Dynamics 365 functionality, rather than pure CDS-A, but its possible.

This topic contains the best run down for what you need to understand. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics365/customer-engagement/admin/security-roles-privileges, this page has a non-microsoft written version of the same topic, which is generally easier to understand! https://crmbook.powerobjects.com/system-administration/business-administration/planning-security/ and https://crmbook.powerobjects.com/system-administration/business-administration/security-roles/