cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

PowerApps, CDS and N:N relationships in Dynamics CRM

Hi!

After "exercising" with PowerApps in combination with Dynamics 365 CRM for 1.5 days, I'm turning to this community for advice. Admittedly I'm a beginner with PowerApps, but have few years of experience with Dynamics 365 (CRM).

So, what I'd like to achieve is to have 2 screens in a Canvas App:

Screen 1: Contacts Gallery with filtering and ability to select a Contact
Screen 2: All related Activities for the Contact selected on Screen 1.

Activities in CRM are related to Contacts (and other types Activity Parties) via N:N relationship. I don't mean the "Regarding" field here.

Screen 1 - no problem, this works and works well.
Screen 2 - this is where I'm stuck.

I can query and show ALL Activities in a datatable or a gallery, this works, no problem with this.

But I can't figure out a way how to apply a filter to the Activity gallery so that only those that are related to the specific Contact are shown.

I think (correct me if I'm wrong) that the only way to achieve this is to use Flow (Power Automate), it seems to me that there is no way to do this directly in PowerApps. At least I could not find a way to do this in PowerApps.

In Flow itself I can get the filtered list via CDS (Current Environment) get List of Records when using the FetchXML box to specify a fetchxml query. But Canvas App is rejecting the CDS (Current Environment) Flow ("failed during http send request"), so this seems to be a no-go option.

How would you approach this, any tips?

The idea seems to be very simple: pick a contact and see his related Activities. But when N:N relationship comes into play, things seem to become very complicated.

Thank you very much in advance for your advice.

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: PowerApps, CDS and N:N relationships in Dynamics CRM

Hi @Lauris ,