cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Accessing on-premise JWT-secured REST API exposed through Azure App Proxy

Good day all,

Please bear with me as I'm very new to this and after trying to follow through a few blog posts, I'm not any closer to a solution. Also, please, keep in mind that I have zero visibility at the Azure side of things, so your guidance may just be something I need to ask that team to do for me; which would be fine.

I'm trying to use Power Automate to reach a REST API exposed through Azure App Proxy. I thought that because as a user of the flow I'm already logged in, I could just use the HTTP action to request a JWT from the API. When my flow runs, it fails and I can see in the Run History that it has redirected the call to http://login.microsoftonline.com/.../.

1. So, I understand that authentication to Azure is not happening seamlessly? Is there no way to use the signed-in user's credentials to go through the proxy? All employees have access to the exposed API (I've been told). 

2. Assuming that the above is correct (i.e. that's the expected behaviour), am I also correct to believe that there are two ways I can go about achieving this connection? a. with an HTTP with Azure connection and b. with an action inside my flow?

Lets park the first option as I read that it doesn't handle raw binary format requests. Focusing on the second option, the action inside my flow, I've read a few things about this and have tried to post to /oauth2/token and /oauth2/athorize (following different blog posts) but I'm not getting anywhere. 

Segluca's post "Generate an Azure OAuth2.0 Token from a "service"" which calls /oauth2/token, provides client and secret IDs as part of the request to recieve back a token to use with subsequent calls. 

3. I understand I get these IDs from an App Registration which will not be the same as the App that was published in the Azure App Proxy? Is that correct?