Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
OneFatCat
Level: Powered On

'Collect()' Not Pushing Data To Azure SQL Database

Hello, Everyone!

I'm new to the PowerApps community and to PowerApps as well. I'd like to ask your help to solve an issue that I'm stuck on for a few days now.

I'm building a simple PowerApps app - integrated into PowerBI - that I'd like to enable to users to send some data to the Azure SQL Database, directly from the PowerBI report.
What would they send? Simple IDs, numbers, a lot of them! Essentially, the entire PowerApps app would be a button that they'd push, which would send the IDs of the items currently selected in their PowerBI report, thus stating "Yes, I'm confirming, I've seen these items".

PowerBI:

I've downloaded the PowerApps Custom Visualization from the marketplace & placed it onto my report, added the ID column of the dataset that I'd like to pass to the PowerApp.
Published it to My Workspace (later moved it to another workspace).

Then, i went into Editing View on the PowerBI website & clicked on Create a new App, on the PowerApps visualization. That took me to the PowerApps website & i started creating a simple app, failed, read some documentation, came back, failed again, rinse & repeated for a couple days, now i'm here fellas!

The Database:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[MyTable](
[ID] Bigint IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY,
[EntryID] BIGINT NOT NULL,
[REVIEWER] NVARCHAR(128) DEFAULT SUSER_NAME(),
[ReviewDate] DATE DEFAULT GETDATE()
);

I'm trying to insert into this table, the plan is that the data for the [EntryID] column will be passed from the PowerBI report, the [REVIEWER] will come from PowerApps' User().Email function. The [ID] & [ReviewDate] are generated.

I've created a dedicated Login & User for the App, which has SELECT, INSERT, DELETE permissions to the [dbo].[MyTable] object.

PowerApps app, so far: