cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
ramzid
Level: Powered On

Creating flagged items from browse gallery

I'm really new to powerapps but finding it a really promising tool when coupled with sharepoint to create a mini CRM system and other basic tools to get away from clumsy spreadsheets. I know there are probably off the shelf products or apps that we could use but this is free and bespoke and very very simple, which suits us very much.

The question i have is: is it possible to place a control in a browse gallery (say a checkbox or 1 rating star) to allow people browsing the list to simply flag the item as a priority item? I'm then planning to filter the list to either items assigned to the user's email address, or the high priority items, or both. I've managed to do the filtering aspect via IF and FILTER statements, using global variables toggled by on screen controls which seems simple enough.

The problem i am having is that even though i assigned a column called 'Flagged' to the control (this is connected to a sharepoint list, 'Flagged' is a boolean column), the record does not seem to change when you activate the control in the gallery view. I don't want to have to go to an edit screen to do this basic flagging operation, if possible.

So i am wondering:

• Is it possible to directly modify a record by activating a control (e.g. a rating or checkbox) in a browse gallery?
  • Can anyone share an example or formula with me to help?
  • From what I have briefly explained, is there a better way of achieving what i want, which is to simply and quickly flag items so they can be filtered in view? For instance, some one may have a lot of items assigned to them, but I want to offer them the ability to filter out low priority ones.

Many thanks,

Ramzi

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ContentGroup

Re: Creating flagged items from browse gallery

Add a checkbox to your gallery, set the default to your field, then: