cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
IvanMislav
Level: Powered On

GroupBy & Collection

I'm new to PowerApps and I'm trying to do what i initaily thought would be pretty simple.

I have an Excel table that looks something like this:

2018-10-20 20_12_46-CRM instances - Excel.png

What I would like to do is to have a Gallery1 to show me only unique Company values, and when I select one of the Companies it drills through and opens Gallery2 that shows filtered Emplyee and other data for only selected company.

I tried to create Collection by creating OnSelect function Collect(colCompany,GroupBy(Table1,"Company","ColumnName")) but it just creates empty collection.

What am I doing wrong? How can I solve this?

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: GroupBy & Collection

Sure, If you used two screens and two galleries, you would make the items property of the first gallery Sort(Distinct(datasource,Company),Result,Ascending).  This would eliminate duplicates from the Company column.  Inside Gallery1 you would put a single label and make it's text property Result.  You would make the OnSelect property of the  > icon: Navigate(Screen2,None,{cmpy:Result)

The Items property of Gallery2 would be: Filter(datasource,Company=cmpy).  You could then put labels in Gallery2 for all of your columns. 

A simpler way of doing something similar would be to use a single gallery and a dropdown control on the same screen. The dropdown would have the Items property Sort(Distinct(datasource,Company),Result,Ascending) and the gallery would have its Items property: Filter(datasource,Company=Dropdown1.Selected.Result).  You may want to try both suggestions and see which one  you like better.  

Capture.PNG

5 REPLIES 5
Super User
Super User

Hi @IvanMislav,