cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sanderson82
Level: Powered On

Multiple entries using the same datacards?

Hi All

I'm quite new to learning PowerApps, SP Online and flow etc.  I'm currently creating an app for ovetime requests to be approved and the data shown in PowerBI.  I have a "working" solution in terms of PowerApps and the approvals in flow however the way I have the columns setup its hard to represent correctly in PowerBI and I think with some knowledge / advice I could design the app better.

Currently I want to capure up to 8 entries.  I have the normal fields for date, approver etc which I'm fine with.  My issue is that currently I'm capturing Name, Hours and Reason.  As I want to allow up to 8 at a time I have datacards for Name1, Name2...Name8, Hours1, Hours2.....Hours8, Reason1, Reason2...Reason8 linked to columns in a SP list.

I'm wondering is it possible to use just one card each for Name, Hours and Reason.  Have a button so that if the requestor wants to add another name they click it and blank Name, Hours and Reason fields appear below and then submit all this as seperate entries on the SP list?

Any help much appreciated

Steven

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Super User
Super User

Re: Multiple entries using the same datacards?

Hi @sanderson82 ,

Edit forms are great for simple submissions for out of the box type solutions.  However, if you want to do something more complicated, it is better to create your own forms.  This will give you more flexibility regarding multiple submissions to different data sources as well as being able to better control the user interface.   Please check out @Meneghino's blog post powerapps-101-create-your-own-forms.  for how to do it.  You will learn a great deal and won't have to try to make an Edit form do something it wasn't really designed for.  

sanderson82
Level: Powered On

Re: Multiple entries using the same datacards?