cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nightglow1029
Level: Power Up

Portal drill-down list?

I'm very new to PowerApps development and the greater Dynamics 365 environment - my background is in SQL. 

We're developing a PowerApps Portal site. Our client wants a list where they can view product details, with the ability to drill down into specific details of that product. I found a post by Nick Doelman here, where he begins by demonstrating exactly the kind of thing we're after... and describes his process as "fairly straight forward features of PowerApps Portals". 

I can get the list of products easily enough - build an entity, add a view to it. I can get the detail flag on the right - that's no problem. It looks like he's building a populated form to display the relevant details, but I can't for the life of me figure out how he's populating the form with the correct content (in his example, he's selecting a class from a list, which takes the user to a different page with the details of that class listed in a form).

I feel like if I can grok that idea then I can take it from there. Apologies if this has been asked before, but I'm feeling very lost in all of this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-siky-msft
Level 8

Re: Portal drill-down list?

Hi @nightglow1029 ,

Can you share more with your issue? Do you want to know How to show the correct data in form when you choose item from List? Does your form page show empty when you select from the List?

This is because the Mode of the form isn’t ReadOnly or Edit, it may be Insert (default). If you want to view/edit/new details, you should set form Mode to ReadOnly/Edit/Insert.

If you want to view details as Nick Doelman’s Blog shows, you can refer to the following steps:

1. Add a Form in page1, choose Entity and Form, set Mode to ReadOnly
  2. Add a List in Page2, choose the same Entity, choose Views, check ‘View Details’ option and choose Page1 webpage.