cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Shapopojoe
Level: Powered On

Powerapps and Sharepoint List - Dropdowns

Newbie here running into first issue. I am attempting to create a Powerapp for a Sharepoint list. I would like to use have a dropdown box for one of the columns in the Sharepoint list but so far, everything I try has not worked. I have been unable to find a simple, direct way to do this. I tried creating a drop down and add data card to Sharepoint data source. I can test and data just never shows up in Sharepoint list or I get an error stating data source is unavailable. Any tips????

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
seadude
Level 10

Re: Powerapps and Sharepoint List - Dropdowns

Hi @Shapopojoe,

Welcome to the PowerApps community. I can help you.

• I'll assume:
    • You have a Sharepoint custom list already created
    • The Sharepoint column is a simple, Single-line-of-text column
    • You have some data in the list
      • If you don't, add some dummy data to make things easier
    • You have already created a PowerApp
  • First, you need to connect your PowerApp to the Sharepoint Data Source (custom list)
    • Click View
    • Click Data Sources
    • Click Add
    • Type in the URL of your Sharepoint SITE (not the list)
      • Don't forget to add the last "/" to the end of the URL
    • Once it "connects", select the list you want
  • Now, insert a Dropdown Control
    • Insert, Controls, Dropdown
  • Finally, set the Dropdown Items property to:
    • Sort(<your list name>.columnName,columnName)
    • You can try all sorts of different Filters, Lookups, etc, but this will get you started.

From here, I'd recommend watching some YouTube videos and reading the docs. There are some great tutorials out there.

Good luck!

Shapopojoe

I followed these steps to the letter but do not see where "Sort" option is for the dropdown....I dont see anywhere to point data source as well..

Shapopojoe