cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
TracyG
Level: Power Up

Displaying data from related entities in Dynamics 365

Hi, I really hope that somebody may be able to help me with something that is driving me mad!

I am very new to powerapps and I'm trying to build an app that shows a list of project information taken from Dynamics 365. The first part has been easy enough and I have a gallery that links to an entity in Dynamics and shows information from that enity filtered on project number and date information.

The problem comes from needing to also show information of the project team who is linked with that project. In Dynamics, the projects table is linked to a resource allocations entity which them links to the Contacts enitity. If the projectid matches that of the id in resource allocations, the resource allocation record has a contactid that then links to the contacts entity.

I basically want to show infomation where:

Projects/projectid is equal to resource allocations/projectid and resource allocations/role is equal to a particular role id and resource allocations/contactid is equal to Contacts/contactid.  Then show Contacts/fullname - this should be the record of the person who is a particular role (such as site manager) on a linked project.

Apologies if this doesn't make sense, but I just wondered if anyone knew of the correct syntax I should be using when tryint to write the formula as everything I have tried so far doesn't work. I have also wondered about using collections but I'm also drawing a blank on how to get the correct related columns in the correct place.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you

2 REPLIES 2
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Displaying data from related entities in Dynamics 365

Hi @TracyG ,

Could you please share more details about your Filter formula?