cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Magnus
Level: Powered On

Filter a list in PowerApps by date

Hi!

I'm just getting started with PowerApps and have created an app based on a Sharepoint list, in which the user can enter upcoming events with a date picker. The app shows all list items by default (both future and past), but I want it to show only entries for tomorrow, today and the past seven days. I can't seem to figure out how to write the code for this filter.

This is the default code in the Browse Screen: 

SortByColumns(Filter('Events VU'; StartsWith(Header; TextSearchBox1.Text)); "Title"; If(SortDescending1; Descending; Ascending))

The column I want to filter from is called "Startdate", but other than that the sorting above is just fine. How do I pull this off? Or am going about this the completely wrong way? Thanks!

19 REPLIES 19
Super User
Super User

Re: Filter a list in PowerApps by date

Hi @Magnus,

SortByColumns(Filter('Events VU'; StartDate>Today()-8 && StartsWith(Header; TextSearchBox1.Text)); "Title"; If(SortDescending1; Descending; Ascending))
Magnus

Hi!

Thanks! I tried that code but then I end up with the following warning (translated from Swedish):

Delegation warning. The marked part of this formula might not work correctly with the column Startdate on large data sets. The data source might not be able to process the formula and might return an incomplete data set. Your application might not return correct results or behave correctly if the data set is incomplete.

In the code view, the word Startdate is underlined in blue. Also, the list in the app shows up empty even though there are events with startdate today. Something wrong with the formatting perhaps?

Super User
Super User

Hi @Magnus,

How many items are in your list?

Magnus

Hi @Drrickryp