cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Faisal_A
Level: Power Up

Future value Calculation in PowerApps

Hi everyone!  I am new to PowerApps.  I have a requirement where I need to build an application that lets users enter infromation that drives a calculation using the Future Value Function.  I have a template in excel that will use excel formulas to complete it.  Unfortunately, I don't see Future Value math function being supported inside PowerApps.  Edit: I should be able to do it the old fashion way: 

FutureValue = PresentValue * (1 + (InterestRatePercent / 100))^Years

Future Value Formula

I would still appreciate some guidence on how to handle this.  Use Collections? 

Detailed requiremnts:

Enter many records/rows with columns containing Amount, fees, years, Interest, etc. to calculate Income/Expense for several groups of records/rows and compare them against other groups (Simple profit/Loss).  User should be abe to view the final calculated values, edit the input data which would refresh the calculation (as they would be abe to in excel) and have the option to save everything to a storage (most likely a sql server table) so it can be viewed in the future or used as a template (wish list) for a new iteration.  

I have access to Sql Server and I can use Stored procedures if necessary via flow.  I just need the most effcient and effective approach to the problem.  Thanks!

Accepted Solutions
TimRohr
Level 10

Re: Future value Calculation in PowerApps

Hi, @Faisal_A...

As this is Friday and you posted Monday, you might have discovered some of this already... PowerApps tends to be short learning curve, especially if you are familiar with Excel. That said... a couple of suggestions of guidance.

GIVEN THE REQUIREMENTS

The user might want to pull a record from a stored datasource, or s/he might want to start from scratch