cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
iamsujith
Level: Powered On

LookUp Function for Columns?

I'm new to Power Apps and have spent too many hours trying to figure this out and need some help.

Using the data source below, I want to build an app that shows the Cost based on the selection of a Handset and a Plan Type (S,M,L,XL and Premium)

For example, if the user selects Apple iPhone XS 64GB (4GX) from the Handsets Column, on a L plan, the cost should show $25 (as marked in the picture)

Inked_Example.jpgSource Data

I have tried so many times to execute the requirement on my PowerApp and this is what I have got so far on my app. Basically two dropdown boxes named as 'Dropdown_Plan' to select the plan type (S,M,L,XL or Premium) and 'Dropdown_Handset' to select the handset. I want the Label that says 'Total cost is' to show the cost based on the selection.

Example App.JPGApp

Formula Used in Label: LookUp(Source, Handset=Dropdown_Plan.Selected.Value, Dropdown_Handset.Selected.Value).

Example App 1.JPG

Since I am using LookUp, the function only returns the first value that matches with the formula (in this case, it simply returns M)

How do I use the LookUp function to tell Powerapps to look into the "column" of the selection and not the value. 

Any help would be massively appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super User
Super User

Re: LookUp Function for Columns?

Hi @iamsujith,

I found a solution but it seems very kludgy to me.  I imported a table of bogus names and prices.  It is shown in the datatable at the bottom of the screen.  I found that the Lookup() function could be used but the third element had to be the actual name of the column head.  This meant that I had to use a variable to substitute in the actual formula into the text box to get the correct answer.  The code below was in the OnChange property of both dropdown controls.  

UpdateContext(
    {
        s: LookUp(
            Prices,