cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
RussW
Level: Powered On

POWERAPPS - GALLERY, SORTBYCOLUMNS, DISTINCT, FILTER, SHAREPOINT LIST WITH PERSON OR GROUP COLUMN

I'm fairly new to PowerApps but am drawn by its similarity to Excel and like many have been searching for solutions to problems encountered in the nuances of building an app to behave the way I expect. Before I get to my question, some

Background:

I've adopted the Dynamic Filter Gallery navigation outlined by Audrie Gordon from her YouTube video walkthrough from which I've extracted the parts/settings here to help recreate

BrowseScreen1

• .FILL = COLORFADE( rectQuickActionBar1.Fill, 80% )

BrowseGallery1

• Resize to 3/4 of right side of screen
  • .TEMPLATEFILL = WHITE
  • .TEMPLATEPADDING = 20
  • Remove the separator from the template card
  • .ITEMS defaults to SortByColumns ( Filter ( datasource, StartsWith(ComplianceAssetID, TextSearchBox1.Text ) ), "ComplianceAssetID", IF (SORTDESCENDING1, DESCENDING, ASCENDING )
  • Change .ITEMS to:
    • SortByColumns ( Filter ( datasource, StartsWith ( Title, GALLERYFILTER.SELECTED.RESULT ) ), "Title", IF(SORTDESCENDING1, DESCENDING, ASCENDING ) )

GALLERYFILTER

• Data source same
  • Resize to 1/4 of left side of screen
  • .ITEMS = DISTINCT ( datasource, LEFT ( columnname, 1 ) )
  • Add a label
    • .TEXT defaults to "THISITEM.RESULT"
    • Reposition and resize
    • Rename the label to LetterAlphabet
    • .FONTWEIGHT = IF ( THISITEM.ISSELECTED, BOLD, NORMAL)
    • .FILL = IF ( THISITEM.ISSELECTED, WHITE, COLORFADE ( RECTQUICKACTIONBAR1.FILL, 80% )

SEARCH FIELD

• .VISIBILITY = FALSE

Datasource = Sharepoint list which contains two Person columns named AgentTechName and Observer

AgentTechName Column Settings.pngObserver Column Settings.png