cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
anabananei
Level: Powered On

Patch to Create or Update items

Hello SMEs!

I'm having trouble on how to patch updates in the record. I am new to powerapps and I searched similar topics in this forum (which is very helpful) but I am not able to reproduce.

Background: I created an app for project tracking and I successfully created a patch function for New items.

Here is expression: Patch('Project Tracking',Defaults('Project Tracking'),{PubSmiley Very HappyataCardValue2.Text,RelSmiley Very HappyataCardValue3.Text,'Team Lead'Smiley Very HappyataCardValue7.Selected,'Project Manager'Smiley Very HappyataCardValue8.Selected,SupervisorSmiley Very HappyataCardValue1.Selected,'Checklist Type'Smiley Very Happyropdown4.SelectedText.Value,SupplierSmiley Very Happyropdown5.Selected.Value})

However, if I am going to edit the item and hit the button, it creates a new item instead of updating the data. BTW, my datasource is a sharepoint list.

Kindly help me on this one. Thank you in advance.

Ana

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Patch to Create or Update items

Yes, you can use Patch to update an existing record without a Gallery.  As I mentioned in my reply the problem with your statement is the use of Defaults().  When you want to create a new record the second argument in the Patch statement points to the default record for the list, so it can duplicate it when creating a new record.  When updating a record the second argument should identify the specific record you want to update, not the defaults for a new record.  That's why I suggested replacing the defaults parameter with one based on First() that would supply the specific record being modified. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.
5 REPLIES 5
Super User
Super User