cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AJ2
Level: Powered On

Set default value for a drop down in a new form

Hello,

I'm new to PowerApps and have read several differnt solutions to this issue, but can't get it to work.

I've created a custom form for a SharePoint list, and need it to pull in a default value for 2 different columns when a new item is created. The first column is called "Priority" and the the default choice is TBD. The second column is "Request Priority Change" and the default should be "N/A". How do I get these to populate? Please Help. Thanks in advance.

8 REPLIES 8
KroonOfficeSol
Level 10

Re: Set default value for a drop down in a new form

@AJ2

When you create a form and connect this to a sharepoint list then PowerApps created dropdown controls automaticly in the form. For the items you have a formula like Choice().

What you should do is copy this Choice() then past this in the DropDown.Defaults. Surround this by a LookUp() formula and add the conditions you like to find. So something like

LookUp(Choice(Priority), YourField = "TBD")

Hope this helps.

Paul

AJ2

Thanks for your response. I'm really new to this. Where do I find the drop down default?  Is that on the data card for the column I'm adding the default to?

AJ2

I need some more guidance please. The formula provided doesn't seem to be valid. Perhaps I"m putting it in the wrong place?

screenshot.png

KroonOfficeSol
Level 10

@AJ2

I think you need to give back a string (don't use the dropdown control a lot). So try this:

LookUp(Choice(Priority), Priority = "TBD").Priority

Let us know if this works?

Paul

AJ2

It's still not a valid formula.

KroonOfficeSol
Level 10

@AJ2 wrote:

I need some more guidance please. The formula provided doesn't seem to be valid. Perhaps I"m putting it in the wrong place?

screenshot.png

@AJ2