cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Turning off Flow and turning back on still create new instances of Flow

 

Currently we are working on a bunch of flow automation logic with SharePoint connectors. The issue we have is that flow queues SharePoint list item changes even when the flow is turned off. Since we have many SharePoint metadata that are updated in bulk while testing, there are many flows that are triggered on error data after turned on. We don't want this to happen. When we turn off the flow, we want it to not run later.

When we turn off the flow, we want it to not run later.

Status: Under Review

Thank you for the suggestion. As is covered in the comments this is not a bug but an important feature to avoid data loss -- this allows you to temporarily disable a flow, make corrections, and then enable the flow, running it over all of the events that happened in the interim. Without this functionality all of those business critical events would be lost.

 

That being said, there may be scenarios where you want to explicitly discard your business data -- to support that case we'll look at adding an option to delete the trigger data so you can start again from scratch.

Comments
Level: Powered On

Any updates on this?

 

Much needed

 

 

Level: Powered On

Agreed that this a major oversight.  The answer that "it's not a bug, it's a feature" is infuriatingly lacking.  The primary goal is document/item maintenance, and it's inevitable that some maintenance work is going to be required on most lists/libraries where the Flow needs to be disabled.  

 

This is only a "feature" in a specific use case where the list/library is accessible to other users who may still be creating/modifying items when the Flow is turned off (for Flow maintenance).  Sure, in that scenario you'd want the Flow to run.  Otherwise, its a bug that can CAUSE data loss by overwriting manually-entered information. 

 

This should be an OPTION, not a default.  The fact that there's not any way to exclude items from automated flows is a deal-breaker for some lists and libraries.  The end goal is correct records, not a perfect Flow history. 

Level: Powered On

This really doesn't make sense to turn something "off" only for it to run again later. Isn't that more like a "pause" button?

 

A quick idea I've had is to insert a condition at the beginning of your Flow that would always be false then terminate the Flow. Do this then turn your Flow back on to let it "catch up" and remove the condition.

 

Really shouldn't be any workarounds needed for something like this.

Level: Powered On

Please fix this ASAP. I just had a scenario where a status indicator name was changed in a  SharePoint status field and I had to update 380 items to the new status indicator. I switched the flow off and as soon as I switched it back on, it started sending out email notifications on items that were resolved ages ago. 

It is definately not a feature!

Level: Power Up

Please give us the option to turn off a flow vs Pause.. which is what this currently is.