Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
MauriceSmulders
Level: Powered On

Filter Galery based on button selection

Hi there, 

I am fairly new to PowerApps and have a question regarding filtering a gallery on screen 2, based on the selection of a button on screen 1.  let me elaborate on both screens. 

Screen1 is a graphical roadmap showing four phases (like a flow diagram) with buttons assigned to the areas of the phase. 

- Button 1 = Phase 1
- Buttone 2 = Phase 2

- Etc. 

Each of the buttons Navigate to the same screen 2 with Navigate(Deliver,ScreenTransition.Fade). 

Now I would like to filter the Gallery on screen 2, based on the button that was chosen to (e.g. button phase 2 was chosen, I would like the Gallery on screen 2 to be filtered by the phase that was selected to get to screen 2. 

Could you please be of assistance?

Thanks!

Maurice

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Filter Galery based on button selection

Hey Maurice, it sounds like you need to pass a variable from screen 1 to screen 2 and then set up your filter on screen 2 depending on what is passed (or not passed). 

To pass a variable, you can edit your Navigate code to something like this:

// Pass Phase 2 selection to screen 2
Navigate(Deliver,ScreenTransition.Fade, {Phase: 2})

You would then need to set a filter based on the variable, which depending on how your data is set up in the Gallery could be easy or a bit tricky. In fact, I would actually start with that part: what in the Gallery's data relates to the selection you are making and then structure the variable you pass based on that.

I'd be happy to go more in-depth if needed but hopefully that gets things moving in the right direction!

7 REPLIES 7
Super User
Super User

Hey Maurice, it sounds like you need to pass a variable from screen 1 to screen 2 and then set up your filter on screen 2 depending on what is passed (or not passed).