cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
seadude
Level 10

Is PowerApps ready for Mission-Critical Applications?

I'd like to get the community's input on this. I've been evangelizing and developing PowerApps within my org for the past 3-4 months and now am pretty proficient at turning around simple form apps with minor Flows. That being said, the requests are starting to get more "serious" with apps that have a larger business impact.

I'd like to know (and I'm sure Microsoft would like to hear it as well): 

Do you believe PowerApps is ready to handle mission-critical applications or is it better suited for "form replacement" and automation-type tasks at this point of its development?

Why or why not?

My definition of mission-critical app: An always-connected, dependable application that significantly affects productivity and business reporting. If its slow, down or bugs emerge (out of nowhere), the bottom line and potentially human safety are affected.

Thanks for your thoughts

3 REPLIES 3
BrandonMcG
Level: Powered On

Re: Is PowerApps ready for Mission-Critical Applications?

I've only built a couple business apps at this point, more internal tooling, but IMO, until data fetching and LookUps/Search/Filters get faster or can chew through more than 500 records (NOT IN EXPERIMENTAL), I don't know that I would go the PowerApps route for something that could have a potential impact on revenue or especially human safety. 

I think it has it's use cases, but not quite to that level of sophistication yet.

Super User
Super User

I think it depends on the scope of the mission. For a small to medium, fixed location (non-mobile) business, I would say that it could be mission critical. For larger operations or anything requiring a mobile workforce, I would say no.