cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Land of Confusion

I have got a nice functional app, but as time goes on, I am finding that I need to improve an issue. I need to be able to lookup cities and states. I currently have a list, but the list is fast approaching the 5000 item mark. Is there a common SECURE place to get cities - states? And if so, please provide general information on how to..... Happy New Year everyone and thanks in advance for any and all responses. I also apologize if this question is elementary, I am not a developer and I am learning everyday.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Land of Confusion

Hi TT You can download the zipcode database from http://federalgovernmentzipcodes.us/ for free as an excel spreadsheet csv file. It contains almost 43,000 items. If you don't care about the zip codes you can import it into Excel remove the duplicates. That filters it down to 29,787 cities and states. Split it into two tables and import it into Powerapps using the Static Data option. This option is limited to 15000 rows.
6 REPLIES 6
DanielWilliams
Level: Powered On

Good afternoon,

Can you provide a little more details? Are you wanting the entry to auto populate or provide a list of location or just a link to a specific URL that does that?

Super User
Super User

Hi TT You can download the zipcode database from http://federalgovernmentzipcodes.us/ for free as an excel spreadsheet csv file. It contains almost 43,000 items. If you don't care about the zip codes you can import it into Excel remove the duplicates. That filters it down to 29,787 cities and states. Split it into two tables and import it into Powerapps using the Static Data option. This option is limited to 15000 rows.
Super User
Super User

Hi @TerrificTerri,

Take a look at my new blog post inspired by your question. Automatically Prefil City and State from Zip Codes.  

Community Support Team
Community Support Team

HI @TerrificTerri,