Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Toby_GS
Level: Power Up

PowerApps write to multiple excel spreadsheets

Hi everyone,

This is my first time using PowerApps so very unfamiliar with it. I wanted to know if it was possible to write to multiple excel spreadsheets from a singular App. I know you can connect to different data sources, but can you re-write back to them?

So this is the flow that i would like to happen, when i select a name and add comments in the app, i want it to write back to the correspnding excel spread sheet.

Does this make sense?

Regards

Toby

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PowerApps Staff LanceDelano
PowerApps Staff

Re: PowerApps write to multiple excel spreadsheets

So, in the place where you do an update of the data you can include more than one patch statement by separating them with semi-colons.   So,

Patch(...) ;  // here is the first patch statement to your first data source

Patch (...)  // here is the second patch statement to your second data source.

You can also wrap the statements to check that the first patch was successful before you allow the second patch statment to proceed by checking the return value.  This article may help with more details.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/canvas-apps/working-with-forms#browse-records

5 REPLIES 5
PowerApps Staff

PowerApps can write to multiple data sources.  Just add the second data source and then connect up your controls to the data source, in particular, that you want to update.  

Toby_GS

is there a video tutorial that i can use to help me understand that better?

Thanks 

Toby

PowerApps Staff

There are a several youtube videos out there on working with multiple data sources.  So, it depends on what you want to emphasize.  Use this search string "working with multiple datasources in powerapps".  Then, take a look for what might help you best.

Toby_GS