cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Oz
Level: Powered On

Run search when press enter

Hi all - I've found a similar question on here, but not the same.  I'm brand new to Power Apps and am trying the Org Browser example template.  Two questions please:

1. How do I get the search from the front screen to run when a user presses the Enter key (rather than having to click on the search icon with their mouse)?; and
  2. How do I get it so when someone clicks on an email address, it launches their email client and creates an email?  In PowerApps I'm seeing an 'The function 'First' has some invalid arguments" error against the default code: Launch("mailto:"&First(EmployeeProfile).Mail).

Hope you can help and thanks in advance.  Oz

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Meneghino
Level 10

Re: Run search when press enter

Hi @Oz

Glad that you are now finding your way around.  As you can see from the OnSelect proerty of the search icon, what it does is to:

1) Load the search term into a collection called "SearchUser"

2) Navigate to the SearchScreen where the results are displayed

One alternative is to place the code that is in the OnSelect of the search icon in the OnChange property of the text input, but the problem is that it will probably be triggered every time a user enters a letter.

The solution I would suggest, if this can work, is to place the text input in the same screen as the gallery.

Then you can simply use this as the Items property of the gallery:

If(Len(TextInputSearchEmployee.Text) > 0, Sort(Filter(Office365Users.SearchUser({searchTerm:TextInputSearchEmployee.Text}), Len(GivenName) > 0), GivenName, Ascending))

If you decide to name the text input something else, then just substitute that name for TextInputSearchEmployee

I am suggesting this so that you avoid the navigation step, which is why a search icon is necessary.