cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
ACD0236
Level: Power Up

Writing in Excel from a dropdown in PowerApps

Hi guys, just a quick question for which I haven't found the answer elsewhere...

I've got a PowerApp which is based on a Excel table stored in ODFB. It works well: when I write something in a field in the app, it gets written in the corresponding cell in the table.

But how do I do this with, say, a dropdown list or a radio button? For example, I have a "gender" field. Instead to have the user to type in "man" or "woman" or whatever (which is open to spelling errors, interpretations, different abbreviations) I would like to propose a dropdown list (or a radio button) from which to choose. But how do I get this choice to be written in the corresponding cell?

I'm new to this platform and until now I've only written some little, simple programs in Java, so I'm sorry if this is an obvious question but I really can't get this solved.

Thank you in advance, regards!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Hoffmanrat
Level: Powered On

Re: Writing in Excel from a dropdown in PowerApps

I'm new to this also so I can't offer an in depth explanation nor guarantee that the way I have done it is the best but maybe I can set you down the right path.

In my App I have an allowed value form type and although I previously had multiple selections available which worked fine the requirement I have is better addressed as a single option.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Before you customise your form you change it to an allowed values list on the options screen. I'm showing you on a second item as the option is removed from ApprovedStatus now that it has been customised.

In the advanced settings I have linked to a table in the excel, also stored in ODFB, for Allowed Values and this is where you would have your drop down options.