cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mrklewis
Regular Visitor

Create a form that connects with an external Web API

I am new to Power Apps and Power Pages. I am attempting to build a simple power page that will had a text box and a button on the page. The user will in put text in the text field and click the button. The action I would like to be performed on button click is to pass the enter text to an existing web service and to either redirect to a new page showing the results from the web service call (or possibly within the same page).

I am struggling to determine where to start.

I am looking at the basic form and advanced form but it is asking to be based on a dataverse table.

Would the web service call be some form of a flow trigger by the button?

I am simply looking for pointers on where to dig into documentation. I have been googling this all morning and I seem to go down rabbit holes that end up having nothing to do what i am looking for.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ragavanrajan
Super User
Super User

Hi @Mrklewis 

Yes, there are a few ways to achieve this. Some of the frequent use are on a high level 

1.  You can use dataverse connector - create/modify the record and use HTTP premium action then call your external API. 

2. On a basic / Advanced form > advanced > Custom JavaScript > you can write an ajax call to call your external API 

Blog: https://soltisweb.com/blog/detail/2021-02-01-callinganapiinpowerappsportalsusingjavascript 

3. You can build your custom PCF component if you want what you are trying to achieve. 

Official link: please click here

Hope it helps. 
------------

If you like this post, give it a Thumbs up. Where it solved your request, Mark it as a Solution to enable other users to find it.

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
ragavanrajan
Super User
Super User

Hi @Mrklewis 

Yes, there are a few ways to achieve this. Some of the frequent use are on a high level